Origin of the project

The Sorbonne University  Library (BSU) manages the institution's documentary collections. In the early 2010s, the library suspended its digitisation of the printed heritage collections, which were accessible until the end of 2020 on the Jubilotheque.

In addition, the BSU also manages part of Sorbonne University's artistic, scientific and technical heritage (Dupuytren pathological anatomy collections, palaeontology and palaeobotany collections, petrology, metallogeny and minerals collections, scientific instruments and educational material, works produced under the 1% artistic scheme, etc.). These collections are currently being inventoried in a database which will be put online soon.

Finally, other collection databases exist at Sorbonne University  (zoology collection, mineral collection, papyrus collection, etc.) but are not all currently available online.

The existence of these numerous databases and interfaces has led to considerations on the structuring of a portal for the enrichment of all heritage collections. The SorbonNum digital library project was launched at the beginning of 2021, and aims to offer the entire Sorbonne University  community, researchers and the general public a tool dedicated to the consultation, enhancement and enrichment of the heritage collections, particularly through collaborative annotation tools. The aim of this tool is therefore to be the single entry point to all these collections.

 

 

Scope of SorbonNum

Documentary scope

SorbonNum takes over the contents published in the former Jubilotheque, created in 2006. The contents are mainly focused on science and medicine: Charcot's manuscripts, collections of physics and chemistry, geology, mathematics, and theses from the Paris Faculty of Science. The correspondence of the mathematician Montessus de Ballore is currently being catalogued and will be reintegrated as soon as this retrospective cataloguing project is completed. A selection of works on marine biology, from the Lacaze-Duthiers collection kept at the library of the Oceanological Observatory of Banyuls, has also been integrated into SorbonNum. More than 1800 documents of various types (printed, manuscripts, iconographic documents) are available and can be downloaded.

In addition, the inventory databases of the scientific collections (geological samples, palaeontological specimens, osteological pieces and pieces in fluids, scientific instruments, etc.) will soon be put online on a dedicated tool. Interoperability work is underway to query the content created in these inventory databases directly in SorbonNum.

SorbonNum is linked to other infrastructures on a national(Gallica, ReColNat, Patstec) and international(Europeana) scale.

 

 

Evolution of the collections

In parallel with the launch of SorbonNum, the Sorbonne University  Library has relaunched its digitisation projects in 2021. A multi-year digitisation plan is currently being defined, and will lead to the regular online publication of content from all BSU libraries (Medicine, Science, Humanities), archives or scientific collections of Sorbonne University

On the other hand, the BSU will be able to support digitisation projects and online projects based on more specific research projects proposed by the community.

 

 

Services offered

The documents published on SorbonNum are in the public domain. They are placed under the Etalab open licence (see conditions for re-use of images and content). All documents are freely downloadable. In each record there is a link to request a high-resolution digital reproduction of the document.

Most of the printed documents are converted to text, allowing a search both in the title and the fields of the record, but also in the full text. SorbonNum also offers collaborative annotation (OCR transcription) and virtual exhibition tools.

Origine du projet

La Bibliothèque de Sorbonne Université (BSU) assure la gestion des collections documentaires de l’établissement. La bibliothèque a suspendu au début des années 2010 son activité de numérisation des collections patrimoniales imprimées, qui étaient accessibles jusque fin 2020 sur la Jubilothèque.

Par ailleurs, la BSU gère également une partie du patrimoine artistique, scientifique et technique de Sorbonne Université (collections d’anatomie pathologique Dupuytren, collections de paléontologie et de paléobotanique, collections de pétrologie, métallogénie et minerais, instruments scientifiques et matériel pédagogique, œuvres réalisées au titre du 1 % artistique, etc.). Ces collections sont en cours d’inventaire dans une base de données qui sera mise en ligne prochainement.

Enfin, d’autres bases de données de collections existent à Sorbonne Université (collection de zoologie, collection de minéraux, collection de papyrus, etc.) mais ne sont actuellement pas toutes disponibles en ligne.

L’existence de ces nombreuses bases et interfaces a mené à une réflexion sur la structuration d’un portail de valorisation de l’ensemble des collections patrimoniales. Le projet de bibliothèque numérique SorbonNum a vu le jour en début d’année 2021, et vise à offrir à l’ensemble de la communauté de Sorbonne Université, aux chercheurs mais aussi au grand public un outil dédié à la consultation, à la valorisation et à l’enrichissement des collections patrimoniales, notamment par le biais d’outils d’annotation collaborative. Cet outil a donc pour objectif d’être la porte d’entrée unique à toutes ces collections.

 

Périmètre de SorbonNum

Périmètre documentaire

SorbonNum reprend les contenus publiés dans l’ancienne Jubilothèque, créée en 2006. Les contenus sont essentiellement axés sur les sciences et la médecine : manuscrits de Charcot, collections de physique-chimie, de géologie, de mathématiques, et thèses de la faculté des sciences de Paris. La correspondance du mathématicien Montessus de Ballore est en cours de catalogage et sera réintégrée dès la fin de ce chantier rétrospectif de signalement. Une sélection d’ouvrages de biologie marine, provenant du fonds Lacaze-Duthiers conservé à la bibliothèque de l’Observatoire océanologique de Banyuls a également intégré SorbonNum. Ce sont plus de 1800 documents, de typologie variée (imprimés, manuscrits, documents iconographiques) qui sont ainsi disponibles et téléchargeables.

Par ailleurs, les bases de données d’inventaire des collections scientifiques (échantillons géologiques, spécimens paléontologiques, pièces ostéologiques et pièces en fluide, instruments scientifiques, etc.) seront bientôt mises en ligne sur un outil dédié. Un travail d’interopérabilité est en cours pour interroger directement dans SorbonNum les contenus créés dans ces bases de données d’inventaire.

SorbonNum est adossée à d’autres infrastructures à l’échelle nationale (Gallica, ReColNat, Patstec) et internationale (Europeana). Elle est complémentaire des autres bibliothèques numériques liées à l'Alliance Sorbonne Université : la bibliothèque numérique du Muséum national d'histoire naturelle, la collection Auzoux de l'INSPE-Paris, le portail Numerislav de l’Institut d’études slaves et le portail des collections patrimoniales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré.

Evolution des collections

En parallèle du lancement de SorbonNum, la Bibliothèque de Sorbonne Université a relancé en 2021 ses projets de numérisation et a abouti à un plan pluriannuel de numérisation. De nouveaux contenus issus de l’ensemble des bibliothèques de la BSU (Médecine, Sciences, Lettres), des archives ou des collections scientifiques de Sorbonne Université sont régulièrement mis en ligne.

D’autre part, la BSU accompagne ponctuellement des projets de numérisation et de mise en ligne adossés à des projets de recherche plus spécifiques proposés par la communauté.

Services offerts

Les documents diffusés sur SorbonNum relèvent du domaine public. Ils sont placés sous la licence ouverte Etalab (voir les conditions de réutilisation des images et contenus). L’ensemble des documents est librement téléchargeable. Dans chaque notice figure un lien pour demander une reproduction numérique en haute définition du document.

Tous les documents imprimés sont océrisés, permettant une recherche à la fois dans le titre et les champs de la notice, mais aussi dans le texte intégral. SorbonNum propose également des outils d’exposition virtuelle.

Accès à la collection